Attics, a complex separation

Attics, still called peak, or even under roof, is the space between the ceiling of a House and its roof. This space, sometimes neglected, must, however, be the subject of great attention : insulation and ventilation are crucial. We prepare and repair your between roof so that it offers optimal comfort despite the temperatures to the north shore or the South shore of Montreal. This obligation of a between roof maintained and healthy is this dailleurs in the National building code.

Elsewhere the National Code of the building of the Canada (article 9.19) requires adequate ventilation of between it your house roof, that is the condition required by manufacturers of shingles and insulation to ensure their installation.

Improve the longevity of your roof and save on energy through the insulation and the ventilation of your attics.

Problems resulting from poor ventilation and insulation from between it roof :

  • Problem of frost in between it roof
  • Ice dam problem
  • Problem of water infiltration
  • Moisture problem
  • Mold problem
  • Problem of paint that is peeling
  • Problem of premature wear of the shingles of the roof

Problem of attics

The ventilation and isolation from between it roof are linked. Batts took moisture loses up to 50% of its insulation capacity : This is a typical problem of poor ventilation.

Poor ventilation will cause condensation, result of the temperature difference between the inside and the outside of the House and the presence of moisture, from the Interior of the dwelling. With the cold, condensation will form Frost. When temperatures become milder, the Frost melts and increases the presence of moisture from between it roof. It is this moisture that will be responsible for mold, infiltration of water or premature deterioration of the shingles.

Solution

To implement a good ventilation, We use soffits punched on the lower part of the roof. It's small grilles in aluminium with small holes that will allow air to seep. To allow the air out, We install in the upper part a fan. This fan will exhaust cold air which will itself take with him the hot air from the home and moisture. Without hot air and humidity, condensation will not happen more. It is important to check these entries and air vents are not blocked in the ventilation process, including through insulation (ex : mineral wool).

Our experts are able to provide you with an accurate diagnosis on your installation and your needs. Ask us for a quote, We will be happy to assist you.

L’entre toit, une séparation complexe

 

 L’entre toit, encore appelé comble, grenier ou encore vide sous toit, est l’espace qui sépare le plafond d’une maison et sa toiture. Cet espace, parfois négligé, doit pourtant faire l’objet d’une grande attention : l’isolation et la ventilation y sont primordiales. Nous préparons et réparons votre entre toit afin qu’il vous offre un confort optimal malgré les températures propres à la rive-nord ou la rive-sud de Montréal. Cette obligation d’un entre toit entretenu et sain est dailleurs présent dans le code National du Bâtiment.

D’ailleurs le Code National du Bâtiment du Canada (article 9.19) exige une ventilation adéquate de l’entre toit de votre maison, qui est la condition exigée par les fabricants de bardeaux et d’isolation pour garantir leur installation.

Améliorez la longévité de votre toiture et économisez sur l’énergie grâce à l’isolation et la ventilation de votre entre toit.

Problèmes résultant d’une mauvaise ventilation et isolation de l’entre toit :

  • Problème de givre dans l’entre toit
  • Problème de banc de glace
  • Problème d’infiltration d’eau
  • Problème d’humidité
  • Problème de moisissure
  • Problème de peinture qui s’écaille
  • Problème d’usure prématurée des bardeaux de la toiture

 

Problématique de l’entre toit

 

La ventilation et l’isolation de l’entre toit sont liées. La laine isolante ayant pris l’humidité perd jusqu’à 50% de ses capacités d’isolation : cela est un problème typique d’une mauvaise ventilation.

Une mauvaise ventilation va engendrer de la condensation, résultat de la différence de températures entre l’intérieur et l’extérieur de la maison et la présence d’humidité, provenant de l’intérieur de l’habitation. Avec le froid, la condensation va alors former du givre. Lorsque les températures redeviennent plus douces, le givre fond et augmente la présence d’humidité de l’entre toit. C’est cette humidité qui sera responsable des moisissures, des infiltrations d’eau ou encore de la détérioration prématurée des bardeaux.

 

Solution

Pour mettre en place une bonne ventilation, nous utilisons des soffites perforées sur la partie basse de la toiture. Il s’agit de petites grilles en aluminium avec des petits orifices qui vont permettre à l’air de s’infiltrer. Pour que l’air puisse ressortir, nous installons dans la partie supérieure un ventilateur. Ce ventilateur va ainsi évacuer l’air froid qui va lui-même emmener avec lui l’air chaud de l’habitation et l’humidité. Sans air chaud et sans humidité, la condensation ne pourra plus se faire. Il est important de vérifier que ces entrées et sorties d’air ne soient pas obstruées dans le processus de ventilation, notamment par l’isolant (ex : laine minérale).

Nos experts sont capables de vous apporter un diagnostic précis sur votre installation et vos besoins. Demandez-nous un devis, nous serons ravis de vous aider.